The name "Love Bird " refers to the nine species of the genus "Agapornis". Eight of these species originate on the African continent, with the ninth coming from the island of Madagascar.

Three species of Love Bird, the Peachfaced, Masked, and Fischer's, are relatively common in captivity. The remaining species are either uncommon, or completely unknown in aviculture, and are collectively referred to as "the rares."

The Common Species
Peachfaced Love Bird (Agapornis roseicollis)
Masked Love Bird (Agapornis personata)
Fischer's Love Bird (Agapornis fischeri)

The Rares
Nyasa Love Bird (Agapornis lilianae)
Black-Cheeked Love Bird (Agapornis nigrigenis)
Madagascar Love Bird (Agapornis cana)
Abyssinian Love Bird (Agapornis taranta)
Redfaced Love Bird (Agapornis Pullaria)
Black-Collared Love Bird (Agapornis Swindernia)



Photo credits: Abyssinian Love Bird by Nancy Porras, Fischer's (medium dilute) Love Bird by Gwen Powell, orange-faced lutino Love Bird by Deb Sandidge